Research review

Zojirushi Micom NS-TSC10 Review: Patient Rice At A Price That Needs Justifying

A $229.99 fuzzy-logic rice cooker that takes 45 minutes to an hour for white rice, holds it for 12 hours, and steams and bakes on the side. The case for it is the keep-warm logic, not the speed.

Zojirushi NS-TSC10 Micom rice cooker in stainless brown, LCD panel and menu buttons on the lid, with the larger NS-TSC18 behind it

Product image supplied by the brand

In this guide
THE SHORT VERSION

The NS-TSC10 is the cooker Zojirushi puts in the middle of its US line: above the $169.99 NS-RPC10 that only knows how to boil and hold, below the $279.99 Neuro Fuzzy and the $419.99 induction NP-HCC10. It is a 1.0-liter pot rated for 5.5 cups of raw short-grain rice, controlled by a microcomputer that adjusts heat and time as it goes, and Zojirushi's own store lists it at $229.99 with shipping included in the continental US.

What you get for that money is documentation as much as hardware. The instruction manual publishes cook times per menu, capacity per grain, the wattage in keep-warm mode and the exact rules for when extended keep-warm refuses to run. Whether the transparency and the two keep-warm modes are worth $230 turns on how often rice sits in the pot after it finishes.

Our verdict

A well-documented $229.99 microcomputer rice cooker whose value sits in the automatic keep-warm and the eight menus; the direct-heat pot and the 45-minute white-rice cycle are the compromises you accept for not paying $419.99 for induction.

A good fit for
A household that cooks rice several times a week, eats it across a whole day, and wants brown rice, porridge and steamed vegetables from the same pot.
We would skip it if
You cook rice twice a month, want it in under 20 minutes, or have a 12-inch-deep shelf that a 14-inch cooker will overhang.

Reasons to consider it

  • Fuzzy-logic control with eight menus including brown, porridge, sweet rice, cake and steam
  • Regular keep warm runs 12 hours; the manual prints both a 4-hour entry block and an 8-hour automatic switch for extended keep warm, at about 29 W average draw
  • Detachable inner lid, retractable 3.3-foot cord, and a manual that publishes every cook time

The compromises

  • White rice takes 45 minutes to an hour; quick mode is 29 to 40 minutes with a firmer result
  • Direct heating from a bottom plate, not induction, which Zojirushi charges $190 more for
  • The nonstick inner pan is excluded from the warranty and Zojirushi says its coating may wear out with use

What we have not verified: Grain texture, how evenly the bottom plate heats a full pot, lid-seal durability and how quickly the nonstick pan wears were not assessed. Zojirushi publishes no open-lid height, so the vertical clearance the lid needs is unknown. The manual prints two different figures for extended keep warm, 4 hours and 8 hours, without explaining how they relate.

The things in this guide

A closer look at the products, who they may suit, and what to check before buying.

Zojirushi Micom Rice Cooker & Warmer NS-TSC10 · 5.5 cup, Stainless Brown
For rice that waits for the household instead of the reverse

Micom Rice Cooker & Warmer NS-TSC10 · 5.5 cup, Stainless Brown

Fuzzy-logic control, eight menus, a 12-hour regular keep-warm and an extended mode the manual bounds at 4 and 8 hours, a steaming basket and a cake setting, in a 5.5-cup pot at $229.99 from Zojirushi's store.

Before you buy: Slow by design at 45 to 60 minutes for white rice, bottom-plate heating instead of induction, and a nonstick pan that sits outside the warranty.

Price checked September 11, 2026. Retailer prices can change.

The two keep-warm modes are the part worth paying for

When a cycle ends the cooker drops into regular keep warm on its own and holds there for up to 12 hours. Extended keep warm, selected with a second press of the button, runs at a lower temperature for rice that will sit a long while. The machine refuses to enter that mode after mixed, porridge, sweet or brown rice, after 12 hours of regular keep warm have already elapsed, or if the pan has cooled from a power cut. There is also a reheat function tied to the keep-warm state.

The ceiling on the second mode is printed twice on the same manual page, and the two figures differ. The conditions that block entry include "If 4 hours of Extended Keep Warm has already elapsed," while the steps for the mode say "After 8 hours of Extended Keep Warm, the Rice Cooker automatically switches to Regular Keep Warm." The 4-hour figure sits among the conditions for entering the mode and the 8-hour figure in the steps for running it, and the manual does not explain how the two relate.

The manual publishes the cost of all this patience: an average of 29 watts during keep warm on the 1.0-liter model at full capacity in a 68 °F room, against 610 watts while cooking. It also lists what not to do, including leaving the spatula in the pot, holding rice past 12 hours, and keeping anything other than rice warm. A lithium cell keeps the clock running for the delay timer, and Zojirushi says its replacement is a paid service job, not a user task.

Direct heating, a thick black pan, and a 14-inch footprint

The NS-TSC10 heats from a plate under the pan, which Zojirushi calls direct heating, and it uses a thick black inner pan with a nonstick coating to spread that heat. The step-up Neuro Fuzzy NS-ZCC10 at $279.99 lists the same Direct Heating system in its own specification table, while the NP-HCC10 at $419.99 switches to induction, which heats the pan itself. If even cooking at the edges of a full pot is a worry, that $190 is where the answer lives; the TSC10 is the model for people who decided the answer is no.

Zojirushi lists the cooker at 10-1/8 inches wide, 14 deep and 8-1/2 high, about 8 pounds, with a 3.3-foot cord that retracts into the body. The 14-inch depth is the number to measure against a counter under wall cabinets, and the manual's own rule for that spot is about steam, not the lid: "Allow enough room for steam to escape if using beneath shelving," because steam or heat may damage, discolor or deform shelving. Zojirushi publishes no open-lid height, so the clearance the lid itself needs is not stated.

The exterior is clear-coated stainless with a brown top, the inner lid detaches for washing, and the accessories are a steaming basket, a measuring cup, a nonstick spatula and a holder for it. Zojirushi states the unit is made in China in its own factory.

A year of coverage that leaves the pan out

Zojirushi America warrants electrical products against manufacturing defects in materials and workmanship for one year from the retail purchase date, requires a copy of the receipt, and repairs a covered unit with new or rebuilt parts at no charge in the US and Canada. You must phone for a return-authorization number first.

On freight Zojirushi writes only "This warranty includes shipping fees. Packaging fees are not included." It does not specify which legs that covers, and a unit found not defective or out of term comes back "at your expense." Excluded from coverage are non-electric parts and consumables, and the list names inner cooking pans, measuring cups and power cords. Zojirushi's manual warns that the nonstick coating "may wear out with use" and "may eventually discolor or peel off," and points you to a replacement pan.

Buying from Zojirushi's own store adds a one-month return option, but only for a unit still sealed in its original packaging, and you pay the return postage. Shipping to you is included, electric products go to the continental US only, and an order can be canceled by written notice for one hour after it is placed. A cooker opened, used once and disliked has no return path except the defect warranty, so the decision should be made before the seal is broken.

Skip it if rice is an occasional side, not a staple

Pass on the NS-TSC10 if your rice habit is a pot every other week. The $60 you save with Zojirushi's own NS-RPC10 at $169.99 buys a simpler machine that cooks white rice and holds it, and a twice-monthly cook will not notice the missing brown and porridge programs. Pass as well if speed matters more than texture: the fastest this cooker gets is the 29-minute quick mode, and the manual admits the grain comes out firmer on it.

Also step back if a nonstick pan bothers you as a wear item. Zojirushi says the coating on the inner pan may wear out with use, keeps the pan outside the warranty, and sells replacements, which is honest but means the cooker has a running cost. The people this machine suits are the ones who put rice on at breakfast, eat it at dinner, and would rather have the machine manage the wait than a lid on the stove.

How we put this together

Built from the product pages and listings below, without test scores or results we have not measured. Specifications and prices change, so check the original page for the exact model, current price, delivery, and returns.

About our shopping links

Share a good find

Copy this page address to share it.